ScholarQuest and Resident Research Forum 2014

The 2014 UA Department of Emergency Medicine Research Forum was held April 29. This year’s keynote speaker was William Barsan, MD, professor and former chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School.

Each year one resident ScholarQuest project is awarded the Maria C. Mandell award by the Department of Emergency Medicine faculty at the annual Resident Research Forum. The winners this year were Drs. Ashley Tran (current PGY2), Amar Vira (graduated, currently an Ultrasound Fellow at The Ohio State University), and John Rosell (current PGY3) for their project: “Implementing a Ventilator-Associated Pneumonia Bundle in an Academic Emergency Department.” Dr. Larry DeLuca was the primary mentor for the project.

Maria C. Mandell was a dedicated volunteer for the emergency department at the University of Arizona Health Network – University Campus, beginning with its opening in 1971 and until her death in 1983. The Maria C. Mandell award, established in her name by her husband Bert, is a tribute to her interest and contributions to emergency medicine. The award provides support for medical students and residents to conduct research in emergency medicine and injury prevention. It is given as the award for the outstanding ScholarQuest project and presentation at the Annual Resident Research Forum.

Resident research presented at the 2014 forum:

Does Ketamine plus Morphine Improve Pain Control Compared to Morphine Alone In the Emergency Department, A Randomized Controlled Trial.
Jennifer Smith, MD, Jaiva Larsen, MD. Mentors: Matthew Berkman, MD, Uwe Stolz, PhD, MPH, Daniel Hays, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP, Anna Waterbrook, MD

Retrospective Educational Analysis of Emergency Medicine Resident Experience on Orthopedic and Sports Medicine Rotations.
Robert McAtee, MD, Jessica Prior, MD. Mentors: Anna Waterbrook, MD, Allison Lane, MD, Lisa Stoneking, MD, Alice Min, MD, Kristi J.H. Grall, MD, MHPE

Implementing a Ventilator-Associated Pneumonia Bundle in an Academic Emergency Department.
John Rosell, MD, Ashley X. Tran, MD, Amar Vira, MD. Mentors: Lawrence DeLuca, Jr. EdD, MD, Lisa Stoneking, MD, Kristi J.H. Grall, MD, MPHE, Wanda Larson, RN, Angela Westergard, RN, MSN, MBA, CEN, Kurt Denninghoff, MD. Other contributors: Jessica Gonzaga, Brendan Munzer, MD, Donald Davidson, MD, Erik Gerlach, Laurel Yan

Bystander Compression Quality following an Ultra-brief CPR Instructional Video: A Simulation Study.
Michael Pleasants, MD

A Comparison of the Reusable Standard GlideScope to the Disposable Cobalt GlideScope for Adult ED Intubations.
Nathan Holman, MD. Mentors: John C. Sakles, MD, Asad E. Patanwala, PharmD, Jarrod M. Mosier, MD, Mari Cosentino, MD, John Dicken, BS

Rapid Sequence Intubation Compared to Non-RSI for Out-of-OR Intubations with Video Laryngoscopy.
River Bouska, MD. Mentors: John C. Sakles, MD, Uwe Stolz, PhD, MPH, Jarrod Mosier, MD

The Impact of Obesity on First Pass Success for Entrochacheal Intubation.
Daniel Falvey, MD, Nicholas Stea, MD

Are Discharge Instructions for Concussions from the Emergency Department Adequate.
Taylor Shekell, MD, Lauren Barnett, MD, Michael Bouska, MD, David Verbunker, MD, Alexandra Gruner Keogh, MD. Mentor(s): Anna Waterbrook, MD, Allison Lane, MD