EMS Providers Receive Awards at Banner and UA Emergency Medicine Annual Event

May 20, 2016

Southern Arizona emergency medical services (EMS) personnel were honored Tuesday, May 17, at the 2016 EMS Provider of the Year Awards in celebration of National EMS Week May 15-21.

Presented by Banner – University Medical Center Base Hospitals and the University of Arizona Department of Emergency Medicine, the awards are given annually to show appreciation for the critical role EMS providers play in serving the emergency needs of the Southern Arizona community.

This year’s speakers included UA emergency medicine physicians Drs. Joshua Gaither, Nicholas Kroll and Daniel Beskind. UA Department of Emergency Medicine Chair, Dr. Samuel Keim, welcomed attendees. Topics covered were “Providing Online Medical Direction,” “Spinal Immobilization: the Good, the Bad and the Ugly” and “Thing that Go Boom, Explosives and the Injuries that Follow.”

Winners of the 2016 EMS Provider of the Year Awards:
ASUA Student EMS Group: Jeff Tolson, EMT
Santa Cruz County: Tangye Beckham, CEP
Air Medical/LifeNet: Nina Huges, RN, CFRN
Pima County: Monica Rosano, CEP
Northwest Fire Department: Luke Anderson, CEP
Northwest Fire Department: Daniel Zamora, FF/EMT
Tucson Fire Department: 
• Station 12 “C” Shift: Jeff Mayhew, CEP, Brandon Nostrant, CEP, and Todd Sasiadek, CEP  
• Station 10 Medic “C” Shift: Robert Key, CEP, and Nick Perez, CEP
• Station 12 Rescue “C” Shift: Matt Trujillo FF/EMT, and Chris Ruiz, FF/EMT
Banner Emergency Medicine Nurse Intermediary: Sam Adamson, RN
Southwest Ambulance: Dave Seymour, EMT

To view photo gallery, click here.