Dr. Adhikari Named Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs for the Department of Emergency Medicine

Srikar Adhikari, MDSamuel Keim, MD, MSc, chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the College of Medicine – Tucson, recently announced the appointment of Srikar Adhikari, MD, professor of emergency medicine, as the vice chair of faculty affairs for the department. This is the first vice chair ever appointed in the department.

“It is especially important that faculty understand annual review and promotion expectations, receive mentoring and have fair evaluations,” Dr. Keim said. “Dr. Adhikari is perfect for the position and his leadership will greatly benefit the department.”

Dr. Adhikari joined the Department of Emergency Medicine in 2010 and has since earned the status of professor with tenure while contributing as a highly successful academic leader in emergency ultrasound. The Society of Clinical Ultrasound Fellowships recognized the department’s advanced emergency ultrasound fellowship with the 2022 Stellar Clinical Ultrasound Fellowship award.

“I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity to serve as the vice chair for faculty affairs, and I want to convey my deep appreciation for being entrusted with this role,” Dr. Adhikari said. “I am both super excited and deeply humbled by the chance to contribute to our department in this capacity. I look forward to advancing the missions of our department and helping our faculty members reach their highest potential.”

Dr. Adhikari has earned numerous awards relating to his excellent work in teaching and research, including a 2021 Presidential Recognition Award from the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine for his outstanding contributions and service to the expanding future of ultrasound in medicine.

Dr. Adhikari has a strong research track record, including a recent National Institutes of Health grant to incorporate artificial intelligence with bedside ultrasound. Additionally, Dr. Adhikari currently sits on three Department of Emergency Medicine committees, a College of Medicine – Tucson committee and the University of Arizona Artificial Intelligence Working Group.