Department of Emergency Medicine Faculty Honored With College of Medicine – Tucson Awards

March 22, 2023

The University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson presented the winners of the Faculty Awards at a ceremony on March 2. The ceremony continues the college’s commitment to recognize and honor outstanding service in clinical care; diversity, equity and inclusion; research; and graduate medical education.

Faculty members were asked to nominate peers with a letter of support describing how the nominee’s contributions demonstrated excellence in one of the mission areas. Several committees, including the Faculty Diversity Advisory Committee, members of the Dean’s Research Council, past residency program directors and a clinical faculty panel, reviewed the nominations and selected the winners. 

Below is a list of all Emergency Medicine faculty that earned an award. View a full list of all the winners.

Mentoring Awards

The Faculty Mentoring Awards recognize the importance of mentorship for the success of the faculty at the College of Medicine – Tucson. Awardees are nominated by their peers and are selected for their ability to share time and be accessible to mentees, expand their mentees’ networks and professional connections, and serve as a role model for colleagues by maintaining high standards for excellence in their own discipline.

Jarrod Mosier, MD

AMES Awards

The Academy of Medical Education Scholars (AMES) provides mentorship and support for outstanding educators, and promotes excellence in teaching and educational scholarship at all College of Medicine – Tucson teaching sites.

Vernon and Virginia Furrow Awards

The Vernon and Virginia Furrow Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize outstanding achievements in education at the College of Medicine – Tucson.

Excellence in Graduate Medical Education

Richard Amini, MD

Faculty Teaching Awards

The Faculty Teaching Awards are student-nominated awards that recognize faculty members for teaching excellence and their ability to encourage intellectual excitement, inspire the discovery of knowledge, and foster critical inquiry in the classroom or laboratory.

Outstanding Use of Educational Technology (Pre-clerkship)

Dale Woolridge, MD, PhD

Specialty Advisor Awards

The Specialty Advisor Award recognizes faculty who have given of their time and effort guiding fourth-year medical students through the specialty selection and residency application process.

Christopher Williams, MD

Elaine Situ-LaCasse, MD

Hans Bradshaw, MD

Nicholas Stea, MD

Noah Tolby, MD

Richard Amini, MD

Vivienne Ng, MD, MPH