DEM Ultrasound Section Receives 2016 SAEM Conference Awards

May 18, 2016

The University of Arizona Department of Emergency Medicine Ultrasound Section received the following awards at the 2016 Southern Arizona Emergency Medicine (SAEM) conference:

Lori Stolz, MD, assistant professor and Emergency Ultrasound Director, Banner -- University Medical Center Tucson, won "Best Review Article" for 2015.

Srikar Adhikari, MD, associate professor and Section Chief, Emergency Ultrasound, won in the category of "Best Retrospective Research" and named the "Most Prolific Researcher" for 2015.

Elaine Situ-LaCasse, MD, PGY-III, received the Academy of Emergency Ultrasound Resident Research Award for outstanding contributions to Emergency Ultrasound Research. Only one resident in the U.S. is awarded this honor each year.

At the SAEM 2016 SonoGames, the UA Department of Emergency Medicine team, "The WES Sign Story," was the only team out of 72 teams to win in both "Most Creative Team Name" and "Most Creative Team Uniform." The UA EM team name is a pun on "The West Side Story;"  the WES (wall-echo-shadow) sign is an ultrasound sign seen when either one large gallstone or multiple gallbladder stones cause posterior acoustic shadowing, obliterating the posterior gallbladder wall on the ultrasound.