Annual Awards Honor EMS Providers

June 15, 2017

Southern Arizona emergency medical services (EMS) personnel were honored Tuesday, May 23, at the 2017 EMS Week Award Celebration, hosted by Banner – University Medical Center and the UA Department of Emergency Medicine.

The Provider of the Year Awards are given annually to recognize outstanding EMS providers and to thank all our prehospital colleagues for serving the emergency needs of the Southern Arizona community.

This year’s speakers included UA emergency medicine physicians Drs. Arpana Jain, Moses Mhayamaguru, Nick Hurst, Garret Pacheco and Toni Gross. UA Department of Emergency Medicine Chair Dr. Samuel Keim welcomed attendees. Topics covered were “Pediatric Burns,” “School Shooting,” “Pediatric Poisoning,” “Drowning,” and “Controversies in Pediatric EMS.”

Winners of the 2017 EMS Provider of the Year Awards
Tucson Fire Department ALS Award: Chris Mercer, Jason Patrick, Travis Sutterley, Ricky Martinez, Joe Longo and Paul Hestand
Tucson Fire Department BLS Award: John Valenzuela
Northwest Fire Department ALS Award: Lee Hatfield, Dylan Lee and Angel Perez
University EMS: Colleen Fay
Santa Cruz County: Jeff Little
Southwest Ambulance: 
Roni Brueggemann
Pima County Award: Lyle Talbot
Banner UMC Nurse Intermediary Award: 
Wendy Foss RN
Air Medical Crew Award: 
Mark Miller and Alyssa Dalke

Click here for the photo gallery:  2017 EMS Provider of the Year Awards