• The Department of Emergency Medicine is nationally recognized for its innovative clinical and translational research, ranking 18th in National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding for academic emergency departments.

Support Emergency Medicine Research

Research News

Dr. Art Sanders
Dr. Art Sanders Recognized with ACEP's Tenure Award

Arthur B. Sanders, MD, professor of emergency medicine, is the recipient of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) Tenure Award. 

resident presenting a research forum
Emergency Medicine Resident Research Forum Winners

The 2018 Maria Mandell Award Winners for the Best Research Presentation at the Department Research Forum are residents Whitney Robertson, MD, Georgia Baumann, MD, Ashley Guinn, MD, and Kurt Curtis, MD.

Selected Recent Publications

Dresser C, Periyanayagam U, Dreifuss B, Wangoda R, Luyimbaazi J, Bisanzo M. "Management and Outcomes of Acute Surgical Patients at a District Hospital in Uganda with Non-physician Emergency Clinicians." World J Surg. 2017.
Asher SL, Iserson KV, Merck LH. "Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Statement on Plagiarism." Acad Emerg Med. 2017.
Ahmad FA, White AJ, Hiller KM, Amini R, Jeffe DB. "An assessment of residents' and fellows' personal finance literacy: an unmet medical education need." Int J Med Educ. 2017;8:192-204.
Spaite DW, Bobrow BJ, Gaither JB, Hu C. "In reply." Ann Emerg Med. 2017;70(2):263-264.